Di Has Stories…

(and they’re all true)

Five Things February 22, 2009

As we all know, I can’t resist stuff like this.  Christy gave me five things she associates with me. I’ll write about them below. If you’d like five things I associate with you that you can then write about in your own journal, just comment here!

Hedgehogs – My obsession with hedgehogs started in college.  My friend Dave’s girlfriend had been to Russia, where they were popular as pets.  He thought that was awesome, and found a hedgie in Mankato that was looking for a new home.  Dave named him Reggie the Hedgie.  After we left Mankato, he decided that hedgehogs were stupid pets, and he came to live with me.  I had him about a year before he died (cancer).  After my divorce, I got Annie, who I had for about a year and a half before I woke up and she had died.  After Jeff and I got married, I got Furrow from a hedgehog rescue, and had him until a few weeks ago, when I had to find him a new home.  Since I”m pregnant, I couldn’t play with him, and he freaked Jeff out, so he needed to be with someone who could play with him and give him love.

Once you have a weird pet, and let it know that you think everything related is cool, you have a collection.  I have so many hedgehog things that the baby’s room is going to be decorated in Hedgehog.  I’m sure our child will end up hating them.

Thrifting – Oddly enough, something else I learned from Dave’s ex.  Having grown up in a rich suburb, and raised by a mother that only likes old things if they can be considered “antiques” and purchased in the appropriate stores, I did not know how awesome used could be.  (My grandmother actually told me once that she wouldn’t buy anything on sale because sale stuff was “of lesser quality”.  Huhwhat?) For a long time, I dressed primarily in thrift (until I got a job that required suits and shit, and then it got harder as I got fatter).  Most of my furniture has been thrifted.  I fully plan on buying most of my kid’s stuff used (why buy new for that shit?  It’s just gonna get puked on and trashed.)  Since Christy and I are both unemployed and cheap/poor, we have spent all sorts of time in the thrift stores lately.  Yay!

Stroganoff – I make the best stroganoff, ever.  Hands down.  You think yours doesn’t suck?  It might not make someone puke, but I assure you that mine is better.  My recipe has evolved over the years, and keeps getting better.  Last year I even perfected a tofuganoff for the vegetarians in our crowd.  Also did not suck.  I made it for dinner the first time I saw my dad after 22 years, and was surprised to learn that the base recipe that I have used for years initially came from him.  The stroganoff circle is complete.
Knitting – I do that.  My grandma taught me to knit when I was about seven.  She was my daycare, and I think that she taught me to keep me quiet for a while.  I never learned to “make” anything – she would cast on for me, and I’d just knit giant shapeless things, and she’d bind it off for me.  I gave it up for a long time, and took it up seriously after my divorce.  I have not been without a knitting project since then, and have even started a knitting group when I couldn’t find one for younger urban knitters.  Right now, I have two sweaters on the needles, a scarf (those are my UFOs – Unfinished Objects) and a blanket for my little one.  After this, another blanket and a scarf for my dad (and a hat if there is enough left).  My house and my person often have fuzz on them.
Sawatdee- Not just a Thai word and restaurant in my world.  Little Sawatdee is what Jeff and I have called our future child since before s/he was conceived.  (You can see more about that at our baby blog, LittleSawatdee.) I don’t know what more to say about this – I feel like I got pregnant it’s all I talk about, and the word Sawatdee is uttered dozens of times a day in our house.  Have I mentioned yet that I don’t know how I’m going to make it through the next 23 weeks?

Christy also thought these words applied to me:

IKEA 🙂
Easy-Off BAM!
Being swell
Being my landlady
Hard Times Cafe
Ireland

 

Leave a Reply

