Di Has Stories…

(and they’re all true)

Our Tax Dollars, Hard At Work May 9, 2008

Filed under: bitching,life in the city,Minnesota — Diana @ 11:20 am

I heard about this on the radio this morning. In short, this asshole wants to fight about an education bill because it would make hockey the official sport of Minnesota. What I heard him say on the radio this morning was basically: all sports are important. We can’t just single one out to the be “official” sport of Minnesota. If kids are going to play a sport, they will feel “pressured” to play hockey because it is the “official” sport of Minnesota.

Because I was in the shower when I heard this, and I do my best thinking in the shower, I got to thinking about this statement. Does saying that something is the “official” something of the state really do anything?

The State Muffin of Minnesota is the blueberry muffin. Does that mean, when I am in the market for a muffin, that I let that sway my muffin decision? No. Jeff will always get a blueberry muffin because he likes them, and I will generally get something else because I’m not a big fan of the blueberry. The fact that some school children in 1988 brought Governor Perpich a batch of blueberry muffins has nothing to do with my decision. In that way, all muffins are still important.

When I have my muffin (I prefer cherry chocolate chip, thank you), I can guarentee you that I will not have it with the Minnesota State Drink, milk. I don’t like it, and I’m not going to drink it. I don’t care if it is the state drink.

The State Photo is Grace. (I actually always thought it was a painting. Whoops.) The next time I look for something to cover my walls, is the fact that this is the official photo of the State going to “pressure” me into getting this one?

Seriously. Not only is this an absolutely inane argument, I can’t believe that someone is (a) making a fuss about it, and (b) that there is so much coverage. In fact, I’m a wee bit embarrassed to have put my two cents in. I will admit, however, that I have a deep love for useless knowledge, and did happen to know the State Muffin off the top of my head. If you want to learn more about the official whathaveyous of Minnesota, check this out.

 

One Response to “Our Tax Dollars, Hard At Work”

  1. sarah Says:

    oh, honestly. actually attempting to spend 8 hours a day putting in value-added work is I guess the reason you and I will never be politicians.

    Seriously. I am a big fan of my state, but it’s not like I’m hunting down ladyslippers for my wedding because of it.

    Although I will put in my vote for Grain Belt as official beer of my fine home state.


Leave a Reply

