Di Has Stories…

(and they’re all true)

In Which She Finally Posts October 1, 2007

Filed under: home life,life in the city — Diana @ 9:41 am

I have been a bad, bad blogger, just giving you blog dumps and randomness. 

 

I have to say, that when we were finally able to look for a house, I didn’t want to tell anyone anything about the whole deal in case things fell through.  I hate, hate, hate getting all excited about something that doesn’t come to fruition, and I’d been on the New House ride for so long that I couldn’t believe that things were finally coming together.

 

So, here’s what happened:

 

At a KnittinKitten meeting at my place (pool/knitting party) I was in the pool with Jorie, who mentioned how much she loved our place, and wished she could live there.  “Really?” I said.  “You can!”  I told her how much I thought we’d ask for rent (which turned out to be $100 more than we actually did, cause I don’t keep track of that stuff, and Jeff does), and she thought it was a fine idea.  We both ran it past our boys, and decided on a date!

 

Holy crap!  That means that we need to look for somewhere to live!

 

Enter Trusty Matt, our realtor.  He started us looking at houses the day after our wedding reception, and we saw 20? 30? in three trips out.  There was one that we both loved – a bit more than we were hoping to pay, but we had pretty much settled on it.  We saw it one time…two times…and on the third time, I just wasn’t sure anymore.  I mean, I liked it, but the house just wasn’t “me”.

 

Of course, we’d be living there now if we hadn’t found The House.

 

On first blush, it wasn’t much to look at.  I skimmed the listing, but didn’t think much of it.

 

Until, I walked into the sun room.  With the built in bookcases.  Which I have always, always, always wanted.

 

Oh, and it had a fireplace.  And cool little closets.  And a porch in addition to the sun room.  And air conditioning.  And pretty much everything we wanted, for $30,000 less than the other house.

 

Hells yes, we bought it!

 

We had to get a home equity loan on the condo to get the down payment, and then get a mortgage on the house.  We were lucky – in the time between when we made an offer and locked in our interest rate, they both kept going down! 

 

We closed on September 19, moved on the 20th, and moved Jorie and Spencer into the condo on the 22nd.  (Ok, I’m acting like I had anything to do with that…it was all Jeff.  I was at the house with Julie and Bill, who kindly came over to fix my computer and have lunch, and Sarah and Dave, who kindly brought a lemon meringue pie that made me need a moment alone.)

 

We have been in the house for almost two weeks, and things are starting to come together.  It’s been fun to see all my stuff that’s been IN STORAGE and figure out where it goes in our new abode.  I’ve got the craft room/sun room pretty much put together, and the kitchen and dining room are almost there.  I organized all the books yesterday, and this Wednesday, my day off, is the Great Mopping.  We still don’t really have anywhere to sit….my parents are getting us chairs for either side of the fireplace (oh, that feels so good!) and we have a couple of free couches from relatives to choose from…we just have to decide. 

 

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m a homeowner!

 

Leave a Reply

