Di Has Stories…

(and they’re all true)

Finally July 26, 2007

Filed under: being a sickie,bitching,selling the abode,work work work — Diana @ 1:18 pm

After the last few months of gloom-n-doom Di, I hate to get all optimistic and shit on you, but things are starting to get better with a couple of the Major Areas of Stress that have been consuming me for a bit. 

 

I went to the immunologist on Tuesday, as he is concerned that I have been hospitalized five times since October for the HAE.  Apparently, that’s a lot (I thought so, too).  There are a lot of not terribly great treatment options that can happen, such as steroids and continued hospitalizations.  The good treatment won’t be available for a while yet (just because it’s been safely used in Europe for 30 years doesn’t mean we can have it available here, now, can we?) and ‘roids aren’t an option as someday we’d like to produce an offspring without facial hair problems in the womb. 

 

The option we came up with? Periodic plasma infusions.

 

So, once a month (to start out with), I’ll go into the infusion unit of the hospital and spend two hours getting pumped full of plasma.  I can actually schedule it, and will not have to go in through the ER or be admitted – it’s just like a super-long doctor’s appointment.  The immunologist’s goal is to have me be swell-free for three months.

 

That makes me both squee with happiness, and giggle.  I’ve never – NEVER – in 12 years of having this disease gone three months without a flare.  I’m all excited.

 

In addition to finally having some relief in sight, I asked for and received a doctor’s note for a reduced work schedule.  Not only that, but my employer didn’t even throw a fit when I told them about it…it’s all good!

 

So, effective yesterday, I work from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday, and I have Wednesdays entirely off.  Yes, yes, yes!!!  I think this will do wonders for me in terms of getting a break in the week from the assorted assholes and asshattery that I deal with on a daily basis.  Yay!

 

And, I don’t want to say anything in case things don’t work out…but we might be moving soon….

 

Leave a Reply

