Di Has Stories…

(and they’re all true)

Sir, you’re fucking up my prana. Please hang up. July 3, 2007

Filed under: work work work,yoga — Diana @ 7:32 am

Yesterday in yoga, we learned about the concept of prana.  According to Wikipedia, Prana (प्राण, IAST: prāṇa) is a Sanskrit word that refers to a vital, life-sustaining force of living beings and vital energy in natural processes of the universe.

My understanding, in a nutshell, is the “energy” that Sarah and I talk about.   It’s possible for prana to be sucked away from you by others behaving in a negative fashion.

Jeff and I were talking about that concept a lot last night, mainly in reference to my job.  One of the main reasons that we started doing yoga, and in particular tantric yoga,  was in response to my stress/irritation level at the various and sundry assholes that I deal with in my day-to-day work.  (For example, the woman who just called me instead of doing a simple percentage calculation.  The worst part?  She had called before for the same calculation and didn’t bother to write the result down.  Damn, I hate people.)

We decided that these people are fucking up my prana.  Not only am I going to have to do obscene amounts of pranayama to put my prana back in a good place, but we decided that the proactive approach may be helpful.

For example, if Ms. I-Can’t-Do-Simple-Math calls up again, as soon as I feel my irritation level rise, indicating a negative prana, I will simply say, “I’m sorry, ma’am/sir.  You are sucking my prana, and putting me into a negative state of energy.   Please disconnect and find your brain.”

I think that’s a work approved strategy, don’t you?

 

Leave a Reply

