Di Has Stories…

(and they’re all true)

The decline of poetry May 21, 2007

Filed under: bitching,work work work — Diana @ 8:44 am

For the last few months, someone in our education outreach department has been hanging reading material in the stalls in the bathroom. While I appreciate something to look at during the 9:15, the material is pretty poor. The current offering is a mixture of green living tips, problem solving exercises, and the benefits of laughter. For the latter, two poems are posted. For your enjoyment, I have posted both of them:

Laughter, by Ty Bohls

People say there is nothing funnier then laughter
You can even chuckle some long hours after
You laugh at what is sometimes seen
You laugh at things you do not mean
Yet some where in all hilarity
In amongst that crazy parody
Will Someone please tell me, I’ll give you money
What makes laughter, so darn funny!

Why, when you laugh do people laugh too?
Laugh not at things you say or things you do
Its crazy how when nothing’s funny
People laugh and clutch their too tummy
Will anybody tell me? Wouldn’t you? please, sonny
What makes laughter so gosh darn funny!
Yes, What makes laughter so gosh darn FUNNY!

Ok, I’m not even getting into the whole bad grammar and punctuation thing with this poem. Needless to say it’s found on Poemhunter.com, where one can self-publish. Please remember, poets: just because you can self-publish doesn’t mean you should!

And the next one…

Sonnet – Laughter, by Dr. John Celes

If we can laugh, our heart-aches disappear!
Our minds become freed off tensions and stress;
If we make others laugh, they lose their fear,
And become dear, starting to us caress.

Laughter is good for both the young and old;
Laughter can turn a foe into a friend;
Laughter can help forget our woes, be bold;
Laughter can bring to grief, an early end.

Laughter is life’s most precious medicine;
Laughter is soothing balm for all our ills;
Laughter is euphoric much more than wine,
Causing no harm to one or increase bills.

Then laugh and be merry whenever you can,
For, that’s the way to live life better, man.

The first thing that struck me about this poem was that I was pretty sure Shakespeare would never end a poem with “man”. And then I looked at the poor structure. And THEN, I was all worried that people were going to start molesting me if I made them giggle. Ew, ew, ew.

So, there you go. Here’s what I read when I go to the can. And they’ve been there for three months now…can we get some new poetry, please? Anything!

 

4 Responses to “The decline of poetry”

  1. Julie Says:

    Think we could just post something better?

    How about:

    Here I lie in stinky vapor,
    Because some bastard stole the toilet paper,
    Shall I lie, or shall I linger,
    Or shall I be forced to use my finger.

  2. drobbins Says:

    Wow. That’s really all I can say. Wow. As someone in creative writing – poetry mainly – I couldn’t agree more with your statement on “could” and “should” publishing. I rank vanity presses up there with “slam” poetry as some of the worst vices and self-validating traps for any aspiring writer. What’s worse is that in most writing programs today, someone like this would only be reinforced, because the critical element is near-absent in place of a language of validation. I hate that about the arts; I mean, no one wants to look someone squarely in the face and say “you aren’t cut out to be a writer, do something else with your life,” but still, personally I would consider it a great favor if someone sincerely believed that and told me. Anyway, before I pollute your blog with my rants (insert trademark symbol), I’ll shut up. Thanks for the laugh though.

  3. […] people searched on this and found my post The Decline of Poetry.  How, I don’t know – it doesn’t show up until the third page of a Google search on these […]

  4. Anon Says:

    Ty Bohls doesn’t even write his own poetry. He plagiarizes other poets’ work and claims it as his own, generally changing the name so it appears unique.


Leave a Reply

