Di Has Stories…

(and they’re all true)

Oh! A Book MEME! January 31, 2007

Filed under: books,memememe — Diana @ 9:44 am

Hardback or trade paperback or mass market paperback?

Hardbacks are too hard on my hands, and mass markets are a bit flimsy for books that I really want to keep, so if I love them, it’s trades all the way, baby.

Amazon or brick and mortar?

To browse, it’s brick and mortar.  However, because I’s po, it’s mostly Paperback Swap for me! 

Barnes & Noble or Borders?

Independent, if at all possible, but mostly B&N, and mostly because there just aren’t that many Border’s around here.  Also helps that there’s a B&N at the bottom of my office building.

 

Bookmark or dogear?

Depends on the book.

 

Alphabetize by author or alphabetize by title or random?

I don’t think any of my books are alphabetized at all (when they’re not all in storage, that is).  They are vaguely arranged by fiction/non-fiction and then grouped by author – favorite authors and authors that I have a lot of books by in one part of the abode, and then random authors in one place…it really depends on what my storage situation looks like.  For example, right now, since we can’t have any personality in the place, we have one shelf of Jeff books, one shelf of Di books that she hasn’t read, one shelf that she has read and is keeping, one box of books listed on Paperback Swap, and one pile of books on their way back or forth to the library.

 

Keep, throw away, or sell?

If I really, really like it and will read it again, keep.  If not, list on Paperback Swap.

 

Keep dust jacket or toss it?

Keep it.

Read with dust jacket or remove it?

Usually I keep it on because if I remove it, I’ll lose it or it will get all weird.

 

Short story or novel?

I love them both.  Sometimes you only have the attention span for a nice story.

 

Collection (short stories by same author) or anthology (short stories by different authors)?

Either/or.

Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket?

I love the Harry Potter books.  I haven’t read the Lemony Snickets, but my sister assures me that they are fantastic.

Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks?

Depends on whether I am being a good girl and going to bed at a reasonable hour (chapter breaks) or if the book is really good (when I fall asleep).

“It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”?

Am I reading to a child?

Buy or Borrow?

I’ll take ‘em however I can get ‘em.

New or used?

See above.

Buying choice: book reviews, recommendation or browse?

Usually recommendations or browse.  Reviews are useless to me.  It’s like movie reviews – usually the reviewer and I have no rapport or relationship, so I have no idea if s/he likes the same stuff I do.

Tidy ending or cliffhanger?

It’s all good.

Morning reading, afternoon reading or nighttime reading?

Whenever I can!  Always, always before bed.

Standalone or series?

Either.  However, if a series just keeps going for the sake of being a series, then I’ll drop out.

Favorite series?

The Anne of Green Gables books (L.M. Montgomery)

Betsy-Tacy (Maud Hart Lovelace)

Little House on the Prairie (Laura Ingalls Wilder)

Elizabeth I Mysteries (Karen Harper)

Favorite book of which nobody else has heard?

The Things They Carried – Tim O’Brien

Favorite books read last year?

The Broom of the System – David Foster Wallace. I think I have discovered a new favorite author!

Favorite books of all time?

The Things They Carried

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

Anne of Green Gables

The World According to Garp

The Dogs of Babel

 

Leave a Reply

