Di Has Stories…

(and they’re all true)

Respect for Others – A Thing of the Past? December 6, 2006

Filed under: bitching,work work work — Diana @ 10:10 am

Proper ettiquette lacks in public by Brooke Salcedo

While I applaud Brooke for bringing up the lack of good – or even presentable – manners in public, I’d like to take a couple of minutes to talk about manners that aren’t necessarily “public”.  How do you treat the other people around you that you don’t know?

I have been at This Job for more than 15 months now, doing low level customer service work (not that there’s anything wrong with that – it’s just not my bag or skill set).  In the last 15 months, I have come up with the following theory:

99% of people are assholes to people that they can’t see

Working on the phones, I have discovered that there is something very anonymous about being that voice that allows other people to think that you are not quite human, and that you are not deserving of the kind of treatment that you would get face to face.  For example, probably half of my conversations in a day start with the phrase, “You probably can’t help me with this…”.  I sure as shit can, Scooter, that’s why they hired me.  Would you ever walk up to a clerk in retail store with that attitude?  Would you ever assume that they are stupid because they are IN the store?

 

Leave a Reply

