Di Has Stories…

(and they’re all true)

Soundtrack to My Life October 19, 2006

Filed under: memememe — Diana @ 11:33 am

The Rules

1.     Open your library

2.     Put it on shuffle

3.     Press play

4.     For every question, type the song that’s playing

5.     When you go to a new question, press the next button

6.     Don’t lie and try to pretend you’re cool…

Opening Credits

Some Kind of Wonderful – Joss Stone (The Soul Sessions)

I don’t need a whole lotta money
I don’t need a big, fine car
I got everything that a girl could want
I got more than I could ask for
I don’t have to run around
I don’t have to stay out all night
Cause I got a sweet, sweet lovin man
And he knows just how to treat me right

Sing it, Joss!

Waking Up

The Boxer – Storyhill covering Simon & Garfunkel (Duotones)

I am just a poor boy, though my story is seldom told.
I have squandered my resistance,
For a pocketful of mumbles, such are promises.

Great waking up song – starts out all mellow, but by the time you get to the “lie-la-lies”, it’s bouncing you right out of bed.  And, if you are imaginative, you can consider “sleep” the boxer…”I am leaving, I am leaving, but the fighter still remains….”

First Day of School

I Saw a Bird Fly Away – Dar Williams (The Beauty of the Rain)

And I’ve been running uphill, panting, punching at the air,
Fighting what’s been pushing me down, as if it’s really there.

I loved school, and if I could pay my bills doing it, I’d be a professional student.  I see these lines as academic challenge – running up hill to learn as much as I can, knowing that I wouldn’t have the chance to just take time to learn again.

Falling in Love

Thin Line – Indigo Girls (1200 Curfews)

Now I’m trying to get back to what I know that I should be

Hoping to God that I was just a temporary absentee

When I tried to make it more, well it was always less

It’s a thin line between pleasing yourself and pleasing somebody else….

Like most women, I fell into the trap of reinventing myself to be what “he” wanted me to be.  Later on down the road, I learned the error of those ways, but I certainly practiced that for a long, long time.

Fight Song

Peace and Love – Fountains of Wayne (Welcome Interstate Managers)

We'll never live forever
But baby things could be worse
Cause when we get together we are one with the Universe

Uh, I can’t actually think of a more inappropriate song for this category off the top of my head.  It’s bouncy, and the lyrics are all happiness and let’s move to Vermont.  Although, if my beloved brought up moving to Vermont, we might have a fight….

Breaking Up

Nashville – Indigo Girls (Rites of Passage)

          As I drive from your pearly gates I realize that I just can’t stay

          All those mountains, they kept you locked inside

          And hid the truth from my slighted eyes

          I came to you with a half-open heart, dreams upon my back

          Illusions of a brand new start

          Nashville

          Can’t I carry the load?

          Is it my fault that I can’t reap what I sow…

Wow.  This pretty much covers my first marriage.  Since I learned what I did that ended that marriage, I have always thought that my ex kept a lot of things inside that were destroying him.  And it also points out that I wasn’t really into the whole thing…I was ready to get married, and found someone that wanted to for his own reasons, but it wasn’t enough to make things work.

Life is Good

The Old Apartment – Barenaked Ladies (Rock Spectacle Live)

I know we don’t live here anymore

We bought an old house on the Danforth

She loves me and her body keeps me warm

I am happy here

But this is where we used to live

Hell, yes.  This is where I am, but I am made up of all of the experiences that have come before.

Mental Breakdown

Enid – Barenaked Ladies (All Their Greatest Hits)

It took me a year
to believe it was over
and it took me two more
to get over the loss.
I took a beating when you wrote
me those letters
and every time I remembered the
taste of your lipgloss.

I’m sure that most of my breakdowns were due to a break up – so this song is a pretty good one for that. 

 

 

Driving

Silver – Nirvana (Nirvana)

How is Nirvana NOT good driving music?

Flashback

Live and Let Die – Guns N’ Roses (Grosse Point Blank)

When you were young
and your heart was an open book
You used to say live and let live…

Oh, this brings me back to junior high and my metal days…I can picture Brad Whatshisname on the stairs at Valley View with his electric guitar trying to play Sweet Child of Mine…I can feel the silk shirt and short skirt as I dance to bad, bad music with a boy that has to turn his head to the side to not be nestled right in my cleavage….good times….

Getting Back Together

Cajun Song – Gin Blossoms (New Miserable Experience)

Once that girl was mine for such a short time

We used to spend every night, now all I do is cry

They say you can’t miss something you’ve never had

So tell me why, why I could feel so bad…

I found the Gin Blossoms when I was 18 and living in Iowa.  My boyfriend at the time had a heavy metal radio show on public access, and the week before I moved back to Minnesota he broke with his format to play Hey Jealousy for me, and introduced it as a song for “my love”.  Whenever I hear this album I am back in Iowa, with my Walkman, singing at the top of my lungs as I mow the lawn the summer I graduated from high school.  Dan and I only lived in the same place for the first three months of our relationship, and spent the next two years apart:  I was in Minnesota, and he was in the Army.  We broke up after almost two and a half years, and tried to get back together in our mid-twenties, but you can’t always go home again.

Wedding

Liar – Dar Williams (My Better Self)

          You do what you have to do

          Maybe you could be a liar, too

Well, he certainly turned out to be….

Paying the Dues

What Would You Say – Dave Matthews Band (The Central Park Concert)

Rip away the tears

Drink a hope to happy year

And you may find

A lifetime’s passed you by

I think that pretty  much says it all.

The Night Before the War

Kryptonite – Three Doors Down (The Better Life)

I watched the world float to the dark side of the moon

After all I knew it had to be something to do with you

I really don’t mind what happens now and then

As long as you’ll be my friend at the end…

I am not a big fan of fighting.  Well, let me rephrase that – I don’t like to fight with people I love about important thing.  I’ll debate “issues” with you as long as the beer keeps flowing, but real fights make me queasy.  My goal is always to strengthen and preserve the relationship so that “you’ll be my friend at the end”.

Final Battle

Ob-la-di, Ob-la-da – The Beatles (White Album)

Even after the final battle, life goes on.

Moment of Triumph

I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow – John Hartford (O Brother, Where Art Thou Soundtrack)

Uh, there is nothing triumphant about this song of a man rambling the earth, jumping trains, and dying.  No.

Death Scene

We Can Work It Out – The Beatles (1)

Life is very short, and there’s no time

For fussing and fighting my friend

The two lines make this entirely inappropriate song work.  After all, there is just no “working out” death.  It’s pretty much a non-negotiable situation.

Funeral Song

All You Need Is Love – The Beatles (1)

There’s nothing you can know that isn’t known

Nothing you can see that isn’t shown

Nowhere you can be that isn’t’ where you’re meant to be.

It’s easy.

All you need is love, all you need is love.

All you need is love, love, love is all you need.

The iPod was right on this time, and apparently on a Beatles kick.  All you need is love…to have love and been loved is the best thing that one can ask for out of life.

End Credits

The Worst Day Since Yesterday – Flogging Molly (Swagger)

If there’s one thing I have said

Is that the dreams I once had, now lay in bed

As the four winds blow, my wits through the door

It’s been the worst day since yesterday.

 

Leave a Reply

