Di Has Stories…

(and they’re all true)

One Hundred Things October 9, 2006

Filed under: memememe — Diana @ 11:51 am
  1. I was born in California, and have lived in Maryland, Minnesota, Ohio, and Iowa as well.
  2. I am currently living in my 24th residence.
  3. I hate carpet.  A nice area rug is fine, but wall to wall makes me crazy.
  4. The only pets I had until I was an adult were gerbils when I was 4, and some fish.  When I moved out, I got cats (Barney, Scabby, Boris and Kieran)  and hedgehogs (Reggie and Annie).  Not all at the same time! 
  5. I have had three last names, and will have a fourth next May.
  6. I am the third generation in my family to get divorced, on both my mother’s and father’s sides.
  7. I read an average of 70 books per year.
  8. I don’t really know what my natural hair color is.
  9. My earliest memory is of our duplex (pink stucco, up and down) in San Diego, and my parents carrying groceries up to the top apartment in the rain.
  10. I have recurring dreams about malfunctioning elevators.  As a result, I did not get into one for several years.
  11. I have great teeth, but bad gums.
  12. My favorite food right now is corned beef and cabbage.
  13. The best birthday gift I ever got was a trip to London.  The second best was a red umbrella on my 7th birthday.
  14. I have four siblings:  they are 11, 14, 15 and 22 years younger than I am. 
  15. My parents took me to Disneyland for my fourth birthday.  My favorite ride was the teacups. 
  16. Now I wouldn’t go to Disney if you paid me.  I hate rides.
  17. Since high school, I have always wanted to get married on May 11.  And now I’m going to!
  18. I learned to knit and perl when I was about seven, but not to cast on and cast off until I was 30. 
  19. I didn’t speak to my father for almost 20 years.  We were reunited last year.
  20. The best thing that’s ever been said about me was from my friend Kristy:  “Di has stories…and they’re all true…”
  21. I don’t like mint, peanut butter, or bananas.
  22. I love Brussels sprouts.
  23. I have a fear of the dentist.  After years of braces and oral surgeries, I really don’t like anything in my mouth.  (Besides the obvious exceptions.)
  24. I never got drunk until I was over 21.  Really.
  25. I think feet are really gross.
  26. But I love to get pedicures.  Correction:  I hate to GET them, but I love the end result.
  27. If I never had to work again, I could totally keep myself busy.
  28. My first career ambition was to be a high school teacher – either English or History.  Then I started tutoring and found out that I hated working with students that had no interest in learning.
  29. I have size 10 feet.
  30. I have almost no sense of smell.
  31. I am the third oldest woman in my family on my maternal grandmother’s side, and have been since I was 18.
  32. I can wiggle my ears.
  33. One of the other best compliments I’ve gotten was when Sarah wrote my personal ad:  I am the perfect combination of “I am woman, hear me roar!” and “would you like ice cream with your pie, dear?”
  34. I’m actually not a big fan of pie.  I’d rather have cake any day.
  35. I met my beloved on the internet.
  36. I believe that anything built after 1940 is not worth living in.
  37. I am not a Christian.
  38. I don’t like wearing shoes.
  39. Hedgehogs are my favorite animal.
  40. I didn’t have curly hair until I was 26.
  41. When I married my first husband, I was the oldest bride in his family (for a first marriage) EVER.  At the age of 27.
  42. I have never made a craft item that I have kept.
  43. If I can help it, I’ll never go back to Phoenix.
  44. My mother’s middle name is Elizabeth, my middle name is Elizabeth, and my daughter’s middle name will be Elizabeth.
  45. The first “favorite song” I can remember is “Lady” by Kenny Rogers.  I’d like to think that my music taste has improved since then.
  46. My mother is Canadian.
  47. I have never successfully figured out what my birth last name means, although I do know that the spelling was bastardized somewhere along the line.
  48. I have a love for bags.  I am a total bagaholic.  I love them!
  49. I feel better when I don’t eat processed foods.
  50. I only like coffee with “stuff” in it – I can’t drink it black.
  51. My favorite number is 37.
  52. I always thought that I’d been named after Anne of Green Gables best friend, Diana Barry…but it turns out I was named after the Paul Anka song, “Diana“.
  53. I have never heard the song Diana until today.
  54. I have pretty much always worn lily of the valley perfume.  Once in a while I branch out, but I always come back.
  55. My dirty little secret is that Jeff and I love to watch Survivor.  (I’ll hang my head in shame now.)
  56. I am addicted to Fudge Stripes.
  57. It is harder to come up with 100 things than I thought it would be.
  58. I’ve only been stung by a bee once.  I was four and I tried to pet it.
  59. My favorite joke is:  How many existentialists does it take to change a light bulb?  Potato.
  60. I’m really picky about the pens I like.
  61. I used to be really, really afraid of dogs.
  62. I like driving in the car when it’s chilly with the windows down and the heat on.
  63. When I want something done, I want it done NOW.  That has gotten me into a lot of trouble in my life.  But I still want it.  NOW.
  64. I’d buy more things that are locally grown/made if it didn’t cost so much.  And then I feel guilty about giving my money to the big boxes, who don’t pay livable wages, so that people can’t support their local community.
  65. And then I feel guilty because I work for a not-for-profit, but make twice what other not-for-profit workers do…because my not-for-profit raises money through guilt and fear of Jesus.
  66. The first time I ever saw bullet proof glass was in Detroit (I was about six).  I’ve had a fairly low opinion of the place ever since. 
  67. The “To Me, You Are Perfect” scene in Love, Actually always makes me cry.
  68. I have never been baptized.
  69. I don’t think I could give up Coke.  I’ve tried, but I just like it too much.  Sugar, baby!
  70. For a while, when I was little, I thought that dead people were buried on France Avenue in Edina.
  71. I change my desktop wallpaper about once a week.  Even though I rarely see it, I get bored with it.
  72. I tend to bounce my right knee when I am sitting down.
  73. I shop by feel – I wont’ buy a piece of clothing if I don’t like the way it feels.
  74. I was once told that I had cancer….via message on my voice mail.  At work.  Turns out it was a typo on the lab reports.  I never saw that doctor again.
  75. I collect Slinkeys.
  76. The strangest job I ever had was at Shoney’s…during the summer, I worked as Shoney Bear. 
  77. I had one job that only lasted one day -at Menards.  I was so disgusted with the unethical way they conducted business that I called to quit before my second day of work.  Although, if what I learned the first day was that bad, maybe I should have hung in there to see what other horrible stuff I’d learn!!
  78. Out of all the words in the English language, I have to say that the best one is the F word.  Oh, yeah.
  79. I have an irrational hatred for Nicole Kidman.
  80. I’ve never thought my first name fit me.
  81. I just bought a lemon scented lotion, and I smell good enough to eat.  Why didn’t I pick up a bottle of this stuff sooner?
  82. I’m not much of a fruit person, but I love raspberries.
  83. I don’t shop at Wal-Mart or Menards.
  84. The best part of my day is when my sweetie comes in to wake me up in the morning.  If for whatever reason that doesn’t happen, my whole day is off.
  85. 23
  86. I love the in-between seasons….in the spring I’ll tell you that’s my favorite, and in the fall, that’s the time of year I love most. 
  87. My typing speed is between 60 and 70 wpm.  My accuracy, however, it not that great.
  88. I have a theory about world peace that involves bacon.
  89. I don’t really like to shop – especially for clothes. 
  90. I’ve never much liked the color red (except for hair….I have always loved red hair), but in the last couple of years I have developed an affection for a nice burgundy.
  91. I am allergic to cats.
  92. For the first time in my adult life, I have a dishwasher, and I don’t think I could give it up again.
  93. I listen to the BBC to put me to sleep.  Nothing like the British to lull you into slumber.
  94. We took down our television a couple of weeks ago, and I don’t miss it.  We barely used it when we had it out.  But I find that when I am somewhere with a TV (restaurant, my parents’), I can’t keep my eyes off it.  I’m totally mesmerized…which is big reason I don’t let myself watch TV in the first place.
  95. Seeing something made plural with an apostrophe makes me stabby.
  96. I have a bunch of plants at work, and everyone thinks I’m a real green thumb.  Not true – I keep them at work so my kitties don’t eat them (and then throw them up).
  97. One of my favorite words are Sheboygan.  I just love the way it sounds.  I’ve never been there.
  98. I usually sleep naked.  That might have been a visual you didn’t want.
  99. Although I took lots of math in high school and college, I still don’t understand what the hell a “function” is.  And it does not seem to have impaired my life.
  100. I didn’t really think I’d finish this when I started it.
 

Leave a Reply

