Di Has Stories…

(and they’re all true)

What do I want to be when I grow up? October 8, 2006

Filed under: what do I want to be when I grow up?,work work work — Diana @ 11:56 am

As my faithful readers might know, I am thinking about a new job and (possibly) a new career.  (Of course, my faithful readers might know this because most of the people that read this blog are not only readers, but I actually talk to them in person, too.  I don’t seem to have much of a following!)But back to the point:  I am not happy with my job, and I’m not so sure that I’m happy with my field.  Or with working in general, but that’s beside the point.  I’ve got all these skills, and a wish list of what I want and what I don’t want in a job, but many of those things are peripherals…they are not related to the actual tasks that someone would pay me to perform.  I mean, I don’t think that I can find someone to pay me to have an office, but work from home at least half time, and drink coffee.  I need to do something while in my pjs and drinking said coffee.  So, what is that, and how do I go about finding it?

That is what I am here to find out.  My beloved and I were reading a book that Sarah is reading for class, and he suggested another author that he’d read previously, Barbara Sher, and we ordered a couple of her books from PaperbackSwap.  We have been reading I Could Do Anything If I Only Knew What It Was, and I have committed to doing each of the exercises to see if can figure out what the hell to do with myself, and how to get there. 

I will be tagging these entries under What Do I Want To Be When I Grow Up? if you’d like to follow along for the journey (or learn how much longer it will be until I stop whining about my job). 

 

Leave a Reply

