Di Has Stories…

(and they’re all true)

Here’s What’s On My Mind August 22, 2006

I was beset by a little bit of guilt this morning, as I haven’t blogged anything of consequence in quite a while. I’ve been spending a lot of time in my brain lately. So, for your personal amusement, here are some of the things that have been on my mind lately.

 

Wedding Dress Shopping

A couple of weeks ago I went wedding dress shopping, and as of this date, I still have no idea what I am going to wear to my wedding. I thought that I wanted a traditional wedding dress, but I think I may have been wrong. For a wedding of 16 people, in a fairly informal environment, it seems wrong to spend $600 (about what we are paying for said environment!) if I am not totally in love with it.

 

(Sarah asked me if I was unhappy with the dresses because I’m not thrilled about the body that they are going on. Yes, that’s probably part of it, but I really wasn’t in love with any of them, and they just cost too damn much. And now I am being tortured by bridal stores non-stop.)

 

So, I think that I am going to try on some dresses (not wedding dresses…like special occasion dresses) and see if there is anything I like better. Of course, I am always open to suggestion…!

 

Selling the Abode

Jeff and I have met with the realtor twice, and she is coming over to take pictures of the outside of the building tonight. Our target date to have the place on the market is October 2. Only six weeks away…I’m not sure whether to be panicked or thrilled! While living in the little apartment has been easier than I had anticipated, it will be nice to have our own space, and for me to not feel like I am “crashing” somewhere.

 

Things we need to do:

  • Replace the fan in the bathroom
  • Replace the garbage disposal in the kitchen
  • Paint the ceiling in the bathroom and bedroom
  • Clean the carpet in the bedroom
  • Paint all rooms
  • Put hardware on the kitchen cabinets
  • Replace the counter in the kitchen?
  • Replace the dining room and hall light fixtures
  • Put more stuff in storage so the closets look empty
  • Clean the hell out of everything

 

I think that we are going to hit Home Depot this weekend and look at paint, light fixtures, and counters. The current plan is to do all the painting over Labor Day weekend (Labor Day. Get it?). If you are looking for something to do that weekend….! We are going to get all the prep work done next week, and then do the ceilings on Friday night, and the actual painting Saturday and Sunday. I would rather do nothing that Monday, but I have a feeling that’s not going to work out.

 

I have some concerns about all the work to be done. Not that I don’t think that it will happen, but The Sweetie and I have very different ways of getting things done. He likes to ponder, and research, and eventually might get the job done. I like to get it done. I have painted before….I know what to do, and I don’t need a manual. Fans come with directions. Just install it. So do light fixtures. If we don’t know how to do something, then ask/get a book/hire someone. I think that we have already spent more time discussing what and how to do everything than it would have taken me to just do it already.

 

But, on the bright side, we are learning to deal with each other as married people. Which, in just over eight months, we will be. If I can find a dress. Yay!

 

Work

Yeah, it still sucks. I’m not real sure what to do about that. I am having a dilemma – this is the first job where I have been treated really well…my supervisor likes me and is respectful, I like my coworkers and they like me (and for the most part, they do their job well, and I don’t have to clean up after them), I am paid well and have good benefits…it’s the actual day-to-day functions of the job that I hate. They use no brain power, and the callers continue to be idiotic (and, with the end of the year approaching, it promises to get no better). When I look around at the other jobs available….I don’t want them. Not even a little bit. Even though it would get me off the phones (which I desperately need!), it’s not exactly working at the level I’m used to functioning at.

 

On the other hand, when I look at other jobs open in my field, it makes me want to cry. I just don’t want to do any of that stuff again…it made me feel dirty, and like I’ve sold out. Working in this industry sucks my soul, and it against everything that I have come to believe in the last year or so. But might that be true of any industry?

 

(Of course, the real problem here is that I’d like to enjoy life instead of selling myself to the workforce to do basic things like eat. I could easily never work another day in my life, and not be bored. There are so many things to do and see and experience, and so many people that I’d like to spend a lot more time with…but, alas, that’s not the way it works in this day and age.)

 

Jeff and I are noodling some ideas about What I Should Do When I Grow Up, and they are pretty exciting. I need to do some more research, and then I think that I will go part time at this job, and work more than part time doing what I think I’d like to do, and see how it goes. The best part is I think I’d be able to work at home, and that would be really nice for when Diana 2.0 comes along….

 

Leave a Reply

